On Things That Drive Me Bonkers aka Pet Peeves

Sayers vs Doers

If I say I’m going to do something, it is as good as done, no matter how I feel on the day of said commitment or what I’m going through in my personal life. Therefore, I rarely volunteer myself or my time unless I have a general idea of what I’m getting into—no, let me stop lying, unless I have specific details of what I’m being asked to do or what I’m taking on.

Understandably, though, life happens, and sometimes circumstances are out of our control. In that case, a heads up or quick text or call is thoughtful in that it acknowledges the other person’s time and gives them the opportunity to explore other options if necessary. All that to say that I can’t stand when someone makes grand plans or promises and then fails to follow through, especially when they consistently do so or drop the ball at the last minute without warning or consideration of another’s feelings or schedule.

Starters vs Finishers

Which leads perfectly into my next pet peeve. Starting projects and then not finishing them. Sometimes a task that seems small turns into something HUGE and requires more manpower than initially anticipated or isn’t thought through completely before beginning. It happens. But jumping from project to project to project and never finishing any of them is more than my brain can handle. I can’t rest and will go into full anxiety mode if I leave something undone.

Don’t get me wrong, I have friends who manage to multi-task, and I applaud them for at least starting because getting things underway is the first step to any endeavor. Plus, the opposite of starting would be ruminating, researching, and mapping out projects so long that, still, nothing gets done. So, completing tasks, in my opinion, is a balancing act of spontaneity and organization. Enough come what may to get going but enough structure to create a realistic plan to reach the finish line.

Listeners vs Automatic Advice Givers

From time to time, we all need advice, and often we seek it from friends and family. However, there are instances where all a person wants is ears. For someone to listen. Not a quick fix, not an If-It-Were-Me, and not a Here’s-What-You-Should-Do.

Although most people want to help and are sincere in their efforts, listening intently and then maybe asking follow-up questions before speaking can help make whatever advice is given more relevant and catered to the individual. Also, in listening the listener may discover that they don’t need to say anything at all.

One thought on “On Things That Drive Me Bonkers aka Pet Peeves

Comments are closed.